This is America, and we speak English !!

This is America and in America we speak ENGLISH. When I was 11 years old my family moved to California. In 6th grade they teach Spanish to all students. When I was in Jr. High and High school I did not have to take it. Thank god. Some years ago I was working at a company that was using Mexican temps. to build play ground equipment. Every time the company had a meeting they had to have someone translate so the temps knew what was going on.

Today we live in Central Florida. That is a nightmare. There is so many people of Latin decent I don’t feel I live in America and more. (Florida used to be seniors living in retirement.) They drive with there music loud, windows down on the cars. Openly speak Spanish and they think we should too. Even is school 3 of my kids had teachers teach class in Spanish. One had the nerve to ask my oldest daughter why she did not speak Spanish. Her reply “Why we don’t speak Spanish”.

I have read other blogs and this is a growing problem. THIS IS AMERICA AND WE SPEAK ENGLISH. My fore fathers and mothers came from Norway, Sweden, and Ireland. They had to learn ENGLISH to get jobs. Why should we learn Spanish? We had a German family in my Grandma’s neighborhood who learned ENGLISH, because that is what they had to do.

If I went to Asia, Russia or any other country I should learn there language. They do the same when they come here. BUT why should we learn Spanish? Many companies are now requiring employees to read, write and speak ENGLISH. Why too many people have issues following directions. I have heard of 2 Spanish speaking people taking a drivers test, so one can get a drivers license. I call this cheating.

THIS IS AMERICA AND WE SPEAK ENGLISH.

About Rob In His Bunker

Just another spoke in the wheel of life. Rethinking the way my family and I are now living. Moved to a warm climate a few years ago for health reasons. How thinking about going back home. It will be cold during the winter, but better to add clothes to stay warm ,then to be down to skin and still be sweaty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment